Vietnam launches e-visas for visitors from 40 countries

The Vietnamese government has announced a two-year pilot plan to launch an electronic visa system for foreign tourists visiting the country. Under a government directive released in late January, citizens from 40 countries will be eligible to apply for the e-visas starting on February 1. Included on the list are China, Japan, South Korea, the U.S., the U.K., Germany and Sweden, all major target markets for Vietnam’s tourism sector.


Here is the full list of eligible nationalities who will be able to apply for 30-day, single-entry e-visas starting February 1:

1. Azerbaijan
2. Argentina
3. Armenia
4. Ireland
5. Poland
6. Belarus
7. Bulgaria
8. Brunei
9. South Korea
10. Germany
11. Chile
12. Colombia
13. Czech Republic
14. Cuba
15. Denmark
16. Timor Leste
17. United States of America
18. Hungary
19. Greece
20. Italy
21. Kazakhstan
22. Russia
23. United Kingdom
24. Luxembourg
25. Myanmar
26. Mongolia
27. Japan
28. Panama
29. Peru
30. Finland
31. France
32. The Philippines
33. Romania
34. Spain
35. Sweden
36. China (not applicable to Chinese e-passport holders)
37. Uruguay
38. Venezuela
39. Norway
40. Slovakia

To apply for e-visas, foreign citizens can access the websites: or or go to this page and follow the instruction:


Applicants are required to complete a form available on two separate websites (one in Vietnamese and the other in English) run by the Ministry of Public Security. They will receive an application code and will be asked to pay a non-refundable fee online.


It will take three working days for tourists to find out if their applications have been approved or not, according to the directive.
Successful applicants will be able to print off their e-visas to present when they arrive.
Visitors can touch down at any of Vietnam’s eight international airports, including Tan Son Nhat in Ho Chi Minh City, Noi Bai in Hanoi and Da Nang in the central region. They can also arrive via land at 13 international border gates, and via sea at seven ports across the country.